Nikolai & Mersereau P.A. Attorneys At Law

James T. Nikolai

direct: 612-392-7302

Jim studied at the University of Minnesota for his undergraduate degree and at William Mitchell College of Law for his Juris Doctorate degree. He became a member of the Bar of the State of Minnesota in 1982. He is a member of the Dakota County Bar Association, the Minnesota State Bar Association, the American Bar Association and the Minnesota Intellectual Property Law Association. Since joining Nikolai & Mersereau, P.A., Jim has concentrated on litigation matters and has successfully represented both plaintiffs and defendants. He also has substantial experience in the areas of trademarks, copyrights and software protection. Jim is a recognized leader. He was elected four times by the residents of northern Dakota County to its School Board. He served for many years as the School Board Chair. He was appointed by the U.S. District Court for the District of Minnesota to, and served on, the 2005 Patent Advisory Committee. This committee recommended the local rules the Court now uses in patent litigation.

Current Employment Position(s):

Year Joined Organization:

Areas of Practice:
Acquisition and Sale
Advertising and Marketing
Computer Law
Intellectual Property Law
Intellectual Property Licensing
Internet Law
IP Strategies
Software Protection
Technology and Science
Trade Regulation
Trademark Registration
Unfair Competition

Bar Admissions:
Minnesota, 1982
U.S. District Court District of Minnesota, 1982
U.S. Court of Appeals 8th Circuit, 1984
U.S. Court of Appeals Federal Circuit, 1985
U.S. District Court Northern District of Texas, 1999

William Mitchell College of Law, St. Paul, Minnesota, 1982

University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota, 1978

Professional Associations and Memberships:

Dakota County Bar Association

Minnesota State Bar Association

American Bar Association

Minnesota Intellectual Property Law Association

American Arbitration Association

Independent School District 197 (Northern Dakota County) Schools Board, 1989-1995; 1997-2005